IBMA Awards: Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out Lead List of Bluegrass Nominees

Written by CMT News. Posted in Entertainment News

Tagged: , ,

IBMA Awards: Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out Lead List of Bluegrass Nominees

Published on August 15, 2012 by CMT News

Russell Moore and IIIrd Tyme Out
Russell Moore IIIrd Tyme Out and its individual members snagged
nominations in nine categories to lead the field at the 2012 International Bluegrass Music Awards. Alison
Krauss Union Station followed close behind with eight nominations. Blue
Highway and the Boxcars garnered seven nominations each.

Additionally, bluegrass mainstay Doyle
Lawson and the late folklorist Ralph Rinzler were announced as the newest members of the International Bluegrass Hall
of Fame during a Wednesday afternoon (Aug. 15) press conference at the Loveless Barn near Nashville.

Moore IIIrd
Tyme Out are nominated for entertainer and vocal group of the year. They also received nominations for instrumental performance
(“Carroll County Blues”) and song of the year (“Pretty Little Girl From Galax,” written by Milan Miller). Both songs are featured
on the band’s Prime Tyme, nominated for album of the year. Moore also received a nomination for male vocalist and is
included in the gospel recorded performance and recorded event category for “Beyond the Sunset,” a song he recorded live with
Lawson, Jamie Dailey and Josh Swift. IIIrd Tyme Out’s Wayne Benson is up for mandolin player of the year.

Union Station are in the running for entertainer of the year, album of the year (Paper Airplane) and song of the year
(“Dust Bowl Children,” written by Peter Rowan). Krauss and Dan Tyminski
are nominated for female and male vocalist of the year, and instrumentalist nominations went to banjo player Ron Block, Dobro
player Jerry Douglas and bassist Barry Bales.

The 68-year-old
Lawson began playing mandolin at age 11 and joined Jimmy Martin’s band,
the Sunny Mountain Boys, at 18. Three years later, he began working with J.D.
Crowe the Kentucky Mountain Boys
(later named the New South). In 1971, he began an eight-year tenure as a member
of the Country Gentlemen before establishing his own band, Quicksilver, in 1979. He is recognized as one of the greatest bandleaders
in the history of bluegrass music and a mentor to numerous musicians.

Rinzler, who died in 1994, was a scholar, musician,
writer, promoter, producer and social activist. His skills as a banjo and mandolin player led to his recordings with the Greenbriar
Boys. As a folklorist, he traveled North Carolina in 1961 to make field recordings of rural folk musicians for Folkways Records.
During the trip, he met Doc Watson and later booked concerts for him at
urban venues in major cities which led to the guitarist’s success. Rinzler was a founder of the Smithsonian Folklife Festival
in Washington, D.C., and later headed the Center for Folklife Programs and Cultural Studies.

This year’s IBMA awards
show takes place Sept. 27 at the Ryman Auditorium in downtown Nashville. The organization’s Distinguished Achievement Awards
will be presented at a luncheon earlier that day during the World of Bluegrass Business Conference in Nashville.

a complete list of this year’s nominees:

Entertainer of the Year

The Gibson Brothers
Alison Krauss
and the Steep Canyon Rangers
Tyme Out

Vocal Group
Blue Highway
The Gibson Brothers
Doyle Lawson
Russell Moore
IIIrd Tyme Out

Instrumental Group
Blue Highway
The Boxcars
Bush Band

Michael Cleveland Flamekeeper
Punch Brothers

Male Vocalist
Audie Blaylock
Vince Gill
Russell Moore

Female Vocalist
Dale Ann Bradley
Alison Krauss
Claire Lynch

Emerging Artist
Darin Brooke Aldridge
Della Mae
Joe Mullins the Radio Ramblers
Solivan Dirty Kitchen
Darrell Webb Band

Album of the Year
All In
The Boxcars


Alison Krauss Union Station

Prime Tyme
Russell Moore IIIrd Tyme Out

of Home

Blue Highway

The Heart of a Song
Junior Sisk Ramblers Choice

Song of the

“A Far Cry From Lester and Earl”
Artist: Junior Sisk Ramblers Choice
Writers: Tim Massey, Rick Purdue
and Harry Sisk Jr.

“Dust Bowl Children”
Artist: Alison Krauss Union Station
Writer: Peter Rowan

Little Girl From Galax”
Artist: Russell Moore IIIrd Tyme Out
Writer: Milan Miller

“Somewhere South of Crazy”
Dale Ann Bradley
Writers: Dale Ann Bradley and Pam Tillis

of Home”
Artist: Blue Highway
Writer: Shawn Lane

Gospel Recorded Performance
“Beyond the Sunset”
Lawson, Russell Moore, Jamie Dailey and Josh Swift

“I Pressed Through the Crowd”
Dale Ann Bradley

“I Saw
Him Walk Out of the Sky”
Doyle Lawson Quicksilver

Paul Williams the Victory Trio

as We Rise”
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Recorded Performance
“Angeline the Baker”
The Lonesome
River Band

“Carroll County Blues”
Russell Moore IIIrd Tyme Out

, Josh Williams, Aaron Ramsey, Aubrey Haynie and Rob Ickes

“Roaring Creek”
Blue Highway

“That’s What
She Said”
The Boxcars

Recorded Event
“Beyond the Sunset”
Doyle Lawson, Russell Moore, Jamie Dailey
and Josh Swift

“Life Goes On”
Carl Jackson, Ronnie Bowman, Larry Cordle, Jerry Salley, Rickey Wasson, Randy Kohrs,
D.A. Adkins, Garnet Bowman, Lynn Butler, Ashley Kohrs, Gary Payne, Dale Pyatt, Clay Hess, Alan Bibey, Jay Weaver, Ron Stewart
and Jim Vancleve

Special Consensus With Josh Williams and Chris Jones

“Old Violin”
Larry Cordle
and Michael Cleveland

“Singing as We Rise”
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Performers

Scott Benson
Ron Block
J.D. Crowe
Sammy Shelor
Ron Stewart

Barry Bales
Mike Bub
Mark Schatz
Marshall Wilborn

Hunter Berry
Jason Carter
Michael Cleveland
Ron Stewart

Mike Auldridge
Jerry Douglas
Rob Ickes

Phil Leadbetter

Tony Rice
Kenny Smith

Doc Watson
Josh Williams

Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Sierra Hull
Adam Steffey

Hall of Fame Inductees

Doyle Lawson
Ralph Rinzler

Special Award Nominations

Bluegrass Broadcaster
Cantrell, Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Nashville)
Katy Daley, WAMU’s Bluegrass Country (Washington, D.C.)
Chris Jones,
Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Nashville)

Bluegrass Event
Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion (Bristol, Tenn./Va.)
Roche Bluegrass Festival (La Roche, France)
Romp, produced by the International Bluegrass Music Museum (Owensboro, Ky.)

Graphic Design for Recorded Project

Designer: Bedrock Manufacturing
Nobody Knows You, Steep Canyon Rangers

Caroline Hadilaksono
Beat the Devil and Carry a Rail, Noam Pikelny

Designer: Lynch Graphics
Home From
the Hills
, Jimmy Gaudreau and Moondi Klein

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project
Writer: Geoffrey Himes

John Duffey: The Rebel Years: 1962-1977, John Duffey

Writer: Marian Leighton Levy
Tony Rice: The Bill Monroe Collection, Tony Rice

Writer: Bill Nowlin
Monroe Centennial Celebration: A Classic Bluegrass Tribute
, Various Artists

Bluegrass Print/Media Person
Godbey, author of Crowe on the Banjo: The Music Life of J.D. Crowe

Derek Halsey, Herald Dispatch (Huntington,
W.Va.) and Bluegrass Unlimited magazine

Ted Lehmann, Ted Lehmann’s Bluegrass, Books and Brainstorms


Tom T. and Dixie Hall
Donna Ulisse
Jon Weisberger

2012 Distinguished Achievement Award

Byron Berline
Joe and Lil Cornett (Gettysburg Bluegrass Festival)
Orin Friesen
Kitsy Kuykendall
Darrell “Pee
Wee” Lambert

No Comments

There are currently no comments on IBMA Awards: Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out Lead List of Bluegrass Nominees. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.