Jamey Johnson to Celebrate New Album with Ryman Auditorium Concert

Written by Eric 'WizKid' Odom. Posted in Entertainment News

Tagged: , ,

Jamey Johnson to Celebrate New Album with Ryman Auditorium Concert

Published on September 05, 2012 by Eric 'WizKid' Odom

Jamey Johnson photo by Jack Spencer, courtesy of UMG Nashville.

Jamey Johnson will celebrate the release of his new album, Living for a Song: A Tribute to Hank Cochran, with a concert at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on October 16, the same day the album hits stores. Jamey will be joined by several of his friends during the show. Tickets go on sale September 7 at 10 a.m. CT at www.ryman.com.

Living for a Song: A Tribute to Hank Cochran was recorded in honor of legendary songwriter Hank Cochran, who passed away in 2010. The album features 16 of his hit songs. Jamey was joined on the project by Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, Alison Krauss, Leon Russell, Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Ray Price, Asleep at the Wheel, Elvis Costello, George Strait, Ronnie Dunn, Bobby Bare, Lee Ann Womack, Kris Kristofferson and Hank himself.

On the album, Jamey and Willie team up for “Don’t You Ever Get Tired of Hurting Me,” and the pair are joined by Leon Russell and Vince Gill on “Everything But You.”

“Well, really, when you start talking about songwriters, you’ve got to say his name first,” Willie said. “Then you start talking about everybody else. I think everybody would agree that Hank was the best writer up there.”

Jamey joins Willie, Merle Haggard and Kris Krisofferson for “Living for a Song,” a special recording that includes Hank’s voice. “Hank’s ability to perform comes across right there,” Merle said of the song. “I mean, he’s in there with some of the best singers in the world and he gets it across better.”

Merle and Jamey also partner up for a take on the Patsy Cline 1961 hit “I Fall to Pieces.” “It’s important historically for people to know who Hank Cochran was and what he did,” Merle said. “He always wanted to be the Hemingway of country music and I think he did it.”

Hank served as a mentor to many of the artists featured on the album, including Jamey, who often came off the road and went straight to the hospital to visit with Hank while he was sick. Hank’s passing inspired the idea for the tribute album.

“We all met at the house one day and sang some songs,” Jamey said. “Bobby Bare was introducing me to a bunch of songs that when I thought I heard it all, I hadn’t heard anything yet. All the best stuff was the stuff I didn’t know about yet. An entire list of songs was created, not because I knew these songs existed and wanted to cut them, but because the other person did. Everybody got to pick their own, and so for me, it was just as much of a journey as it was for the band or anybody else involved.”

Track Listing

  1. “Make the World Go Away” – Jamey Johnson and Alison Krauss
  2. “I Fall to Pieces” – Jamey Johnson and Merle Haggard
  3. “A Way to Survive” – Jamey Johnson, Vince Gill and Leon Russell
  4. “Don’t Touch Me” – Jamey Johnson and Emmylou Harris
  5. “You Wouldn’t Know Love” – Jamey Johnson and Ray Price
  6. “I Don’t Do Windows” – Jamey Johnson and Asleep at the Wheel
  7. “She’ll Be Back” – Jamey Johnson and Elvis Costello
  8. “Would These Arms Be in Your Way” – Jamey Johnson
  9. “The Eagle” – Jamey Johnson and George Strait
  10. “A-11” – Jamey Johnson and Ronnie Dunn
  11. “I’d Fight the World” – Jamey Johnson and Bobby Bare
  12. “Don’t You Ever Get Tired of Hurting Me” – Jamey Johnson and Willie Nelson
  13. “This Ain’t My First Rodeo” – Jamey Johnson and Lee Ann Womack
  14. “Love Makes a Fool of Us All” – Jamey Johnson and Kris Kristofferson
  15. “Everything But You” – Jamey Johnson, Vince Gill, Willie Nelson and Leon Russell
  16. “Livin’ for a Song” – Jamey Johnson, Hank Cochran, Merle Haggard, Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson


No Comments

There are currently no comments on Jamey Johnson to Celebrate New Album with Ryman Auditorium Concert. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.