Walker County Primary Election Results

Written by Larry Crippen. Posted in Local News, News

Tagged: , , , , ,

Walker County Primary Election Results

Published on May 30, 2012 by Larry Crippen

Six-thousand-four-hundred-and-two Walker County voters turned out for the Republican and Democratic Primaries last night.

In the unofficial results, District 8 Republican Congressional incumbent Kevin Brady beat out his Republican challenger Larry Youngblood by capturing 83.6% of the vote. Locally, Brady’s Democratic opponent, Neil Burns, picked up 632 votes in the Democratic Primary. In a hard-fought race for District 5 State Senate, Republican Charles Schwertner won with about 58% of the vote over local Huntsville candidate Ben Bius. In the contest for State Representative, District 18, John Otto came out on top with 57.5% of the vote over Dwayne Stovall.

Republican Jim Willett beat Republican challenger Bobby Bates by 9 votes, 500 to 491, in the race for Precinct #1 County Commissioner. Willett will face Democratic incumbent B-J Gaines, Jr. who ran unopposed. Republican Incumbent Precinct #3 Commissoner Bobby Warren picked up enough votes, 55.75%, to win out over challengers Phillip Hons and Paul Webb. Warren will take on Democrat Bill Daugette in the November race. Justice of the Peace Precinct #2 Republican candidate Mike Countz got 56.3% of the vote, beating out Shane Loosier and Eric Fugate. Countz will be facing Democrat Tom Wood in the November election. Picking up 74% of the Republican Primary vote for Constable Precinct #1, John Hooks won over Joseph Cochran. He will run unopposed in the general election. In the Republican Primary for Constable Precinct #2, incumbent Reed Prehoda beat out Lane Hurst with 56.2% of the vote. Prehoda will run unopposed. In the Precinct #3 Constable Republican Primary contest, incumbent Steve Hill beat Curtis Beckham. Hill picked up 67.3% of the vote and will run unopposed. Precinct #4 Constable Republican incumbent Gene Bartee picked up the most votes over David Sallee by getting 77.7% of the votes. Bartee will run unopposed in November. Other Republican candidates running unopposed in November include Sheriff Clint McRae, 12th Judicial District Judge Don Kraemer, and Tax Assessor-Collector Diana McRae.

And there will be runoffs in the U-S Senate race. Republican David Dewhurst, who received 57.96% of the vote in Walker County, is headed for a runoff against Republican Ted Cruz. In the Democratic race for the Senate Seat being vacated by Kay Bailey Hutchison, Paul Sadler will face Grady Yarbrough.

And with a win in the Texas Primary, Mitt Romney has clinched the Republican nomination for president.

No Comments

There are currently no comments on Walker County Primary Election Results. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.