Elections Results

Written by Larry Crippen. Posted in Local News, News

Tagged: , , , , ,

Elections Results

Published on November 06, 2013 by Larry Crippen

In Tuesday night’s local elections, 4,039 ballots were cast out of 29,519 registered voters in Walker County–that’s a voter turnout of 13.68 percent.

In the local option liquor election in Justice of the Peace Precinct #2, 1,437 voted for, while 422 voted against. The local option passes.

In local contested races, Ward #1 incumbent Councilmember Joe Emmett won out over Paul Knox by a vote of 371 to 182. Ward #2 incumbent Councilmember Tish Humphrey beat Kendall Scudder for the post by a vote of 187 to 170.

Running unopposed, Ward #3 Councilmember Ronald Allen returns to the City Council. Two new faces on the council will be new Ward #4 Councilmember Joe Rodriguez and new At-Large Position #1 Councilmember Andy Brauninger, who ran against Rachel Willeford who dropped out of the race because of a job transfer for her husband.

In New Waverly, in the councilmember-at-large race, Daniel Clinton picked up 50 votes, Justin Anderson came in with 47, and there were 36 votes tallied for Cynthia Vance. In the New Waverly ISD School Board Trustee election Position #7 race, Terry Munoz got 185 votes, while opponent Jurrell Gilliam got 111 votes.

In the City Charter Amendment voting, all charter amendments passed except Amendment #7, an amendment regarding the reading of all reports made by the State of Texas concerning the City.

In the HISD Board of Trustees race, Position #3 candidate Linda Thompson dropped from the race too late to be withdrawn from the ballot, so J-T Langley continues in his Position #3 post. Position #1 Trustee Tracey Stoudt and Position #2 Trustee Rissie Owens maintain their positions on the School Board.

Mayor of Huntsville Mac Woodward, who ran unopposed, returns as mayor with a vote of 1,998 voters. Running unopposed, Dan Underwood is Mayor of New Waverly with 63 votes tallied.

Charlotte Swor is the Position #6 New Waverly School Board Trustee with 227 votes.

County Election Director Diana McRae told us there were no major issues with the new photo I-D requirement.

No Comments

There are currently no comments on Elections Results. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.